Friday, January 11, 2013

Special Achievement Award for Castleconnor's Martin Cooney

Castleconnor's Martin Cooney  Connacht  Handball Council "Special Achievement Award" winner for 2013

Castleconnor's Martin Cooney has been nominated by the Connacht handball council for the "Special Achievement Award. The Provincial Council at its monthly meeting last evening in the Connacht G.A.A Offices in Ballyhaunis announced its 14 Provincial Winners. Cooney who just last week captained his team of 6 to win the Sligo handball 40 x 20 team title with a win over Shane Bruen's side.
Cooney reached last year's All-Ireland Silver Masters B singles 60 X 30 final is coming back to his best form following an injury that kept him out of the game for 12 months. Cooney will receive his award at the G.A.A Handball All-Star Awards which will be held in Croke Park on Saturday 9th February next.


1) Male Player of the Year
Joe McCann (Mayo)

2) Female Player of the Year
Pauline Gallagher (Mayo)

3) Masters Player of the Year
James Coughlan (Roscommon)

4) Young Male Player of the Year
Martin Mulkerrins (Galway)

5) Young Female Player of the Year
Amy Corrigan (Mayo)

6) Youth Male Player of the Year
Niall Joyce (Galway)

7) Youth Female Player of the Year
Cianna Ní Churrain

8) Official of the Year
John Kennedy (Roscommon)

9) Club Person of the Year
Liam O’Ceallaigh (Roscommon)

10) Coach of the Year
Pierce Lalor (Galway)

11) Special Achievement Award
Martin Cooney (Sligo)

12) Hall of Fame
Ray Doherty (Roscommon)

13) Team of the Year
Williamstown Intermediate Team
Ollie & Pat Conway, Noel Mchugh, Declan Connaughton
14) Club of the Year
Inis Mor

No comments:

Post a Comment